Considering purchase...

Tue 14. Oct 2014, 19:15

I've been playing around with the trial version of articy:draft v2.3.7 for the last few days and I'm very impressed. It almost exactly matches my thought processes and workflow. In fact, if the costs were lower, I'd have purchased it already. I can understand the current price point though, and think it's fair for the overall functionality of the product; however, the price point also changes my tolerance level for potential deal breakers which puts me on the fence about whether to purchase or not. I am a rank amateur when it comes to game design, not even indie level. More like power hobbyist, so the $200 price point (I'd likely get the Steam SE version and the upgrade for v. 2+) changes my expectations

The first potential deal breaker is the current implementation of flow logic, which is pretty much useless without a separate runtime or the really expensive (for me) middleware. Unfortunately, it's the most important consideration for me in the thought process to make a purchase. My project contains heavily branching and merging dialogue that constantly refers back to past player choices. Theoretically I can set conditions and variables in the flow, but they seem to have no effect whatsoever in the journey/playback other than cosmetic. I can't even see what variables are in effect, set, whatever during playback. Even the free (for me) Chat Mapper can handle flow logic in dialogue...I hate, HATE, HATESSESS chat mapper...but I have to use it currently because I've found no suitable alternative for actually modeling flow logic.