Client installation

Installing the articy:draft application SINGLE-USER

Installing articy:draft (single-user) is a walk in the park. All you need to do is run the installer executable and follow the instructions given by the installer. If you need help, please email us at support@articy.com. We'll be happy to assist you.

Please note that articy:draft 1.x does not support side-by-side installations. This means that multiple installations of articy:draft 1.x on the same machine are not supported.

However it is possible to install a version 2.x besides an older 1.x version. This enables you sticking to your proven articy:draft 1.x while trialling the new 2.x at the same time.

Installing the articy:draft client MULTI-USER

Installing the articy:draft client is just as simple as installing the stand-alone application for single users. In fact, it's the same executable - and it can even be used in hybrid scenarios where you work alone on your single-user projects and together with a team on network projects.

All you need to do is run the installer executable and follow the instructions given by the installer. If you need help, please email us at support@articy.com. We'll be happy to assist you.

What has been said regarding side-by-side installations of the single-user client is also true for the multi-user variant.

Updating to new client versions

(See "how to update your projects" for details.)

Whenever a new version of articy:draft comes out, you'll get a link to the installer executable. Simply run the installer; it will detect an existing installation and update it.

Some version updates will require a conversion of your existing projects. That may sound troublesome, but it's done automatically when you open a project for the first time. The process is slightly different between single-user and multi-user projects. See the sections below for details.

Converting projects SINGLE-USER

The project selector on the welcome page highlights projects that need to be upgraded in orange. Simply open these projects (e.g. double-click) and the conversion will be done automatically in the background. Make sure to save your project so that the conversion will be securely saved. Once you've done that, older clients will no longer be able to open the converted project. More info can be found here.

Converting projects MULTI-USER

In short, major changes can only be made to multi-user projects in the so-called exclusive mode. This means that the project is exclusively locked for one user and no other users are working on it at that time. Opening the project exclusively is necessary because the conversion may involve restructuring and upgrading project data, which can only be done on the entire project.